Day 13 – A Full Rich Day

For those that enjoy the television viewing experience that is M*A*S*H, you will know what I mean by a full rich day. Basically, as the words describe, it was a very full day of experience… and today was full of happy experiences from start to finish. Because of the fullness of the day, I don’t know if I can say the challenge has been completed for today. But you know what?… I don’t particularly care. I had a great day with my family and the happiness that came from today far outweighs the happiness I could have achieved by completing the items in the challenge.

We all jumped in the car this morning at about 10:30 am and apart from the 15 minute stopover at home to get changed, we got home at 8:30 pm. We spent the day at a fun/water park with some colleagues as part of our work social club. To be honest, I could have easily stayed at home and achieved nothing but we packed up the car and went along. Even in going to this event, I was not very open to the idea of going on the water slides… that would have been the biggest mistake of the day had I not. My wife convinced me to do it and I have her to thank for the majority of the happiness levels for the day. It was great fun. More because┬áI went tandem with my daughter down most of the slides and she had a ball. She was loving it… and so was I. Getting out in the sun and water was the best medicine. We finished up the day in going out to dinner with some good friends. A very large meal of Mexican food and a few beers was a perfect way to end the day. Well that was the reflection on something good that happened today… the whole day!

The random act of kindness for the day was pretty low key but an important one I think. I sent a message to the guy who organised the event when I got home, thanking him for everything. As my first event since becoming a member of our social club, I had a great time, as did the rest of the family.

Three new things I’m grateful for today

The fact that the warm weather is still here – otherwise it would have been a bit cold on the slides.

The $8 a month┬áinvestment in the social club… I certainly got my monies worth today.

Mexican food – except that I ate too much of it for dinner.

Exercise

I’m going to count the fact we walked around for half the day as the exercise.. and climbing up stairs to get to the water slides was a good workout for the legs. And doing it all while carrying a 15 kilogram child made it feel more like exercise!

Meditation

This was the real only failure. Unfortunately with the fact we were out of the house all day and then when we did get back, I had already have a few beers… I didn’t think this was going to happen today.

images
Leave a Reply

