Can I really learn to be happy?

According to all round good guy and positive psychology expert Shawn Achor… yes. Yes I can. Well I friggin hope so! If you haven’t seen Shawn’s TED talk, head over here to check it out. It is well worth the watch if only to experience the great and funny presentation that it is, even without the content.

I hope I can get some happiness back in my life for several reasons. The first (and probably most important) is that at some stage in my mid thirties I managed to become a grumpy old bastard. I don’t find fun in much of what I do anymore. And there isn’t an apparent reason for it. I have a great wife, a beautiful daughter, a lovely house, a fulfilling (and very financially rewarding) job… why should I not be happy? It just seems ridiculous. And what is even more ridiculous is that about 18 months ago I was diagnosed with depression… where the hell did that come from? I had been an outgoing person. I enjoyed nothing more than partying with friends every weekend. I loved spending time around people. Now I find that all I want to do is lock myself in the house, continue to work on the dent I have made in my couch and stuff my face with food that I don’t need as I already have a nice set of man boobs. There were some reasons for this sink into depression which I will go into later, including the path I have already begun traversing in seeking the cure for my depression.

Anyway… what is all this leading to?.. well after watching Shawn Achor’s TED talk and subsequently reading through Randy Scott Hyde’s similar battle with depression, I am finally getting the motivation and the balls to do something about it. The biggest motivation for all of this?… my wife. I love my wife very much, I honestly do. But this bumpy road we have both been travelling (or more like the one I have been leading her down) is not something we can keep on doing. I don’t like the person I have become, or the person that this depression has created. I want to change who I am… I need to change who I am. As my wife has brought to my attention several times… I am a smart man (apparently). I know what I need to do to conquer this beast that is depression (or stress, or whatever else may come along in life) yet I don’t do anything about it. And she is right… of course she is 🙂 But I do know the answer. And it is time to do something about it.

Part of the reason for this blog is to put it out there is to create some accountability for my actions. As I plan on following the same 30 challenge that Randy Scott Hyde has completed, I felt that by documenting this, I would force myself to not only write it down, but possibly be another resource that someone else may read some day and get some inspiration in the same way I have been inspired. Anyway… I have never blogged before. I will be going through a steep learning curve in this process so bear with me.

More to come…

Leave a Reply

